40 samoset rd, winchester, ma 01890

School Start Time Study Committee

Winchester Public Schools: School Start Time Study Committee

The research on secondary school start times is clear and compelling, and the district has convened a School Start Time Study Committee to review this topic and make a recommendation to the school committee for possible changes to our school start times for 2018-2019.

Here are some important facts about secondary school start times:

  • The American Academy of Pediatrics, The Centers for Disease Control, and the American Medical Association all support middle and high school start times after 8:30 a.m.
  • The twelve members of the Middlesex League Superintendents' group last year agreed to support later secondary start times and ensure limited impact on athletics.
  • The Brookings Institute economists reported that improved school performance as a result of later start times has significant and lasting economic benefits.
  • Teens with later school start times get more sleep, are sleeping at the right time, and are more awake and alert for learning.
  • Adequate sleep improves learning, memory, mood, and performance in school, sports, and other activities.
  • Districts with later start times reported less depression among students.

The committee will review research, conduct surveys, hold public forum(s), identify concerns, and develop a recommendation and implementation plan for school committee consideration by 2/1/18.  

Committee Members

     Jackson Savage
     Elizabeth (Lizzie) Splaine

     Irene Diamond
     Frances Woof
     Jen Lassins
     Jaime Bailey
     Anna Paradis
     Leigh Petrowsky
     Dennis Mahoney

     Sarah Girotti
     Mark Micciche
     Patrick Gill
     Michelle Bergstrom

 School Start Time Study Group Meeting Dates

October 18, 2017 3 to 4:30 p.m.

November 1, 2017   6 to 7:30 p.m.

November 15, 2017  3 to 4:30 p.m.

December 7, 2017  6 to 7:30 p.m.

January 4, 2018   3 to 4:30 p.m.

January 30, 2018 7 p.m.  (School Committee Presentation)